My experience so far / few questions

• Hello all,

I joined around a month ago, and was very excited about this. I have been trading on betfair for many years, but was seeking a new challenge.
    My initial strategy was to focus on long term capital growth by hoping the website really takes off and the index sees natural growth. Therefore I bought a few top 100 trackers.
    A I started to learn the mechanics of the index, I realised this was spreading myself too thinly to gain any material profits, and therefore have slowly but surely reduced the numbers of players in my portfolio.

I seem to be achieving steady capital growth and dividends at the moment, not sure if this is just the market improving as a whole, or my shaping of my portfolio!!!
    so am debating putting larger amounts in.

A few questions:

1. Do the “large” spreads make it unfeasible to make decent money here?
    2. Are IPO’s worth the hassle? Seen people grumbling about them a lot.
    3. Do we know any of the company’s long term plans? Further expansion into other countries? National tv advertising etc........
    4. Will the market suffer a downturn post the World Cup?

• @NewUser115892

1. In theory the trackers should work well enough to cover the spreads. I have data from 6 months ago, in that time the FOOTIE has increased by 40%. However, most media money comes from the top 20 rather than the top 200 so with some cherry picking you can probably find better returns.

2. Personally I stay well clear of IPOs. Undoubtedly there is good money to be made if you can get in there within the first few seconds before a player rises but the risk is too high for me. Risk of either getting in a few minutes late after price has already risen or the player simply not rising enough in price to ever get a return.