when is the right time to sell???

• Hi, I'm new to the football index and would like some advice on when to sell a player. Ive currently got coutinho and he has gone up around 20p per future for me today alone which is great, but I'm not sure whether to sell him shortly to cash in before his value plummets or wait a bit longer and take advantage of the possible move to Barca.

Any advice and feedback from people who have been in this situation before would be much appreciated. Thanks

• I'm a fairly new user and had lindelof before his move to Man U. His price increased and thinking it would peak as his move was confirmed i kept hold of him. Depending on how frequently you monitor I would suggest you sell just before you think a deal is finalised as that seems to be the peak. Although, you will likely lose buzz payments as they go into overdrive after a big transfer is confirmed.

• 20p as a percentage of his buy price isn't much. You'll need to consider the 2% commission. Also, if you are selling "instant sell" that's another 2%.

Yes, I've noticed the plummeting price too. I suspect the price to bounce back come the new season.

• You will barely be able to find the right time to sell - some do, some dont. As a rule of thumb you should set yourself a target as in to when you would like to take profits, e.g. after 40% return. Always bear in mind that you have to have a return of 5% to break even. If you trade purely on rumours your profit taking should be quicker compared to long holds.

Look at VvD - the next closest CB in the PL is David Luiz and look where he is trading at...always keep in mind where other positions are trading and this should help you to decide when to exit

• @NewUser70624 good advice. My target is usually 20% - 30%