Maximum value of a player

• Ive seen some talk about the future and £7+ or even £10 players if the index keeps rising. My questions is; given the current FI model, whats people thoughts on the maximum value a player can realistically go to before its no longer a good investment?

Im no expert on trading, but for me normal stocks on big companies rise based on millions/billions of £$ in turnover etc, which has no real upper ceiling. Realistically the index is never going to be that without more major change.

As an example, if messi rose to £10 per future, is someone realistically going to buy 500 of them (£5k investment) to try and earn a couple of hundred pounds dividends? (just a crude representative example of combined buzz wins). Realistically not - there are far better investment opportunities around. Add into that 2% commission and a lower sell price.

So are we already close to the natural ceiling for top players with regards to what makes a good investment? Interested to hear peoples thoughts...

• @NewUser76802 interesting question. I thought a lot about this in the past. To make it short: In my opinion there is no limit for player prices. Why should someone not buy Neymar for 1000GBP per share if he think that the price will further rise? I think we are just at the beginning, and that this site and so the community will grow much bigger in the future. For me it makes much more fun, than every other kind of sport betting. And i assume a lot of other people feel the same. But its just my opinion....

• I think there is a hypothetical historical max and then a realistic ceiling.

The FI player of our dreams would be David Beckham in his celebrity heyday - he was an absolute media buzz magnet and could have feasibly picked up 1 in 4 media buzz wins. Over a year, that would be about £7 in buzz returns. If you're looking for a 15 to 20% return on investment, it would justify a hypothetical price of £35 per future.