VAR



  • Watching Algeria semi final that had a handball and penalty allowed but before then play carried on and an Algerian player called sofiane feghouli got booked for a foul. As play went back to the pen before this then the booking should be rescinded surely? Is this a rule or not?

    Oh to keep it on a trading topic (nobody seems to even look at the off topic area) then buy mahrez...pump!



  • I watched this last night and wonder if the 'new' law will clear this up or make it worse??????

    My theory is "IF" a player deliberately uses there arm to touch the ball then a foul should be given....

    Or we could go with a much more simple version... ie... IF the ball touches any part of the arm or hand then a foul should be given"

    But no... the 'official' law is the following....

    *It is an offence if a player:
    deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, including moving the hand/arm towards the ball
    gains possession/control of the ball after it has touched their hand/arm and then:
    scores in the opponents’ goal
    creates a goal-scoring opportunity
    scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper

    It is usually an offence if a player:

    touches the ball with their hand/arm when:
    the hand/arm has made their body unnaturally bigger
    the hand/arm is above/beyond their shoulder level (unless the player deliberately plays the ball which then touches their hand/arm)
    The above offences apply even if the ball touches a player’s hand/arm directly from the head or body (including the foot) of another player who is close.

    Except for the above offences, it is not usually an offence if the ball touches a player’s hand/arm:

    directly from the player’s own head or body (including the foot)
    directly from the head or body (including the foot) of another player who is close
    if the hand/arm is close to the body and does not make the body unnaturally bigger
    when a player falls and the hand/arm is between the body and the ground to support the body, but not extended laterally or vertically away from the body

    The goalkeeper has the same restrictions on handling the ball as any other player outside the penalty area. If the goalkeeper handles the ball inside their
    penalty area when not permitted to do so, an indirect free kick is awarded but there is no disciplinary sanction.*

    Now not being funny... but using my versions would be a lot simpler?????????

    No way was the Algerian defender deliberately handling the ball following that Etebo shot.. the fact that Ighalo ducked in front of him and it hit him on the arm otherwise sailing harmlessly wide for a goal kick is irrelevant.. it was not deliberate, it was not unnatural and it was not an offence!!!!!!!!!! FIFA, IFAB the FA all need to sort this sh"t out because its ruining the game, making it far too slow and is more importantly having too much of a say on deciding trophies and finals which shouldn't be the case!!!

    Any normal person can see that a goal should not have came from that last night... the fact they played on for three minutes after and Nigeria didn't complain once should also suggest its a pathetic situation that football has put itself in!!!

    Thanks god that Mahrez scored in the end for the good of the game!!!!


Log in to reply