Short selling

• Do people think this will ever be an option on FI?

• I asked Adam this on a Q&A last year. It's not possible to incorporate under a gambling license because you could be on the hook for more than your stake / balance.

• It is something that has crossed my mind. I must admit, I don’t know much about short selling so maybe it wouldn’t be possible on FI.
    I just thought it might be something they have up their sleeve for when new money stops coming on to the platform. As I say, I have no technical knowledge, just hypothesising.

• @playingcards1 Betfair manage to allow people to lay bets, which is effectively the same, you just have to have enough funds in your account to cover the potential pay out. I'm struggling to see the difference, yes it's a moving target with Fi and your liability is unlimited, but there must be ways round it? Yeh perhaps they are keeping it under wraps at the moment?

• @Twods there’s my answer.

• @Joking

I clicked mate nice 👍 shorts

Hope no Trojan viruses too??

If so I know where to come for my Gundergans back

• @Bernie-Madoff said in Short selling:

@playingcards1 Betfair manage to allow people to lay bets, which is effectively the same, you just have to have enough funds in your account to cover the potential pay out. I'm struggling to see the difference, yes it's a moving target with Fi and your liability is unlimited, but there must be ways round it? Yeh perhaps they are keeping it under wraps at the moment?

But they're not the same right? Laying is essentially just betting at a fixed price against something happening. Shorting is taking up a position that you hope will be overpriced at a future point. So you could be liable for an unlimited amount if the price goes the other way, and thereby lose more than your initial stake.

Like I said, Adam said pretty conclusively that they can't introduce an option to short under their current license.