The power of reinvesting dividends

• Morning traders,

I'm new to FI but have been investing stocks for a long time and wanted to share an amazing concept and give you an actual representation of how important it is to reinvest your dividends. Below I have provided an example of the difference of reinvesting dividends using Paul Pogba over the course of 12 months.

0_1587024956296_Screenshot 2020-04-15 at 16.25.58.png

The above graph shows that if you were to invest in 156 Pogba's in which he was priced at £7.80 when the data started. The reason for purchasing 156 Pogba's is that the first dividend of £0.05 would allow you to purchase 1 more Pogba the next day (156 x £0.05 = £7.80).

The table shows how much you'd receive in dividends each month. As the table shows by reinvesting your dividends in 12 months time you would be receiving a gigantic 30.94% more dividends each month compared to if you didn't reinvest the dividends.

I'm sure everybody is already aware of the power of compound interest but I wanted to a share a visual representation to everybody to show just how powerful this strategy is. If you were to do this over 3 years then of course the dividends would compound even more.

If you like this kind of stuff I've just started a Twitter account at @FIStoxxy so give me a follow as I'll be posting similar stuff in time to come.

Any questions on compound interest give me a shout!

Regards,
    Nathan

• @NewUser517869 said in The power of reinvesting dividends:

ke this kind of stuff I've just started a Twitter account at @FIStoxxy so give me a

I love to see S**t like this- nice work

• Banned

I have given you a follow, see how it goes

gl

• @pompeyjosh1990 thanks for taking the time to read Josh!

• @MrWh1te awesome times! Thank you

• As someone who doesn't reinvest my dividends (I take them out as a kind of extra income), this is incredibly persuasive. A very nice table.