Man Utd Sue Football Manager (Implications for FI?)

• @Metropolis FI totally different, it’s a gambling site.
    It’s like Utd suing bet365 or PaddyPower, ain’t happening

• @Gregolocky True, but theres a huge difference between a simple bet and buying 'shares'. Yes I know it's hypothetical, and technically a bet, but still.

• @Metropolis The only thing I’d be worried about from FI perspective is the use of player images. Could be open to image right issues, especially with players whose religious beliefs are totally against gambling.
    But who knows the ins and outs of the laws regarding gambling 🤷‍♂️

• I think the biggest threat to FI is from the players themselves. We are literally getting rich off their success and buying "futures" in them. Are they getting any slice of that action? No! Should they? Probably, arguably, inevitably! (If I was a sports lawyer and worked on image rights and brands etc I'd be all over this tbh).

• @Leighton that’s like saying if you put a bet on with a big gambling company and win the players get a share of the winnings just reading that back it sounds ludicrous

• It really isn't i don't think. But lets see. I think its inevitable and am frankly surprised it hasn't happened already. The more FI grows, the more people will want their cut. The law is often ludicrous, but that doesn't stop the argument being heard.

• @Leighton apple is a big company you can buy futures in apple on the stock market and in the case they do well you close your position make a profit they don’t come knocking for some of your winnings lol 😂 if this ever did happen which it won’t I’m sure they will be going after big betting company’s which obviously have already got everything in place to make this perfectly legit which is why it will never or hasn’t already happened

• @Gregolocky said in Man Utd Sue Football Manager (Implications for FI?):