Buy vs Sell spread

• Hi,
    haven't been using footballindex for the past year, I bought a bunch of players at the time (currently have 6 in my portfolio) and then pretty much never did anything with it.
    I logged back in today to get back in the game but when I saw the spread between buying and selling price of pretty much any player I got shocked, it is absolutely huge! It used to be pretty close in the past, but with this spread a wonder if this game is even beatable anymore long-term. I turned a profit on all players in my portfolio, but with a 20/25% spread I don't think is even worth the risk anymore. What happened in the past year? Am I missing something? Thanks for your help!

• I agree, Im only new to FI, but the spreads are a bit disconcerting. I'm also trying to understand how the 'sell' price works (if this is off-topic let me know and I will open a separate topic).

I bought 100 shares of player x @£1.00. His 'Buy' price is now £2.00, but his 'sell' price is £1.70. I'm not willing to sell at that price, but would sell at £1.90. So I have set a reserve price at £1.90 for 100 shares - yet the 'Buy' price still quotes £2.00??
    How does this help the market? What if there are buyers at £1.90 (my price) but they cannot see my offer?

Any help would be appreciated, otherwise I will bail out altogether.

• I have your same concerns, I see that the spread is smaller among very popular players (the most expensive), however as you move down the list it becomes a bit of a joke. Not sure, maybe there is some other way to earn £ with the players in the portfolio apart from buying and selling (maybe dividends, but haven't looked into how they work tbh)