A place still for passive traders??

• I’m a relatively passive trader due to family and lifestyle considerations. Due to changes in F.I over past months, it seems you now need to trade much more actively to make profit.

Hopefully sell orders will help me to offload some players without incurring a massive spread and reshape the port slightly.

Is there still a place for the passive trader or have the days of acting like a bit like a tracker in a rising market now gone?

Appreciate any advice, I know I’ve picked some brains before on related topics but struggle to find the right FI blend.

Cheers lads/ladies 👍

• I'm a very active trader and recognize that things are moving that way somewhat, but with dividend increases now known to be annually, and hopefully more generous than the most recent one (reasonable to expect so), then I think the tide will be perpetually rising, albeit more steadily most of the time than has generally been the case historically. Park your cash in the intrinsically valuable players and you'll still see steady growth

• @Pizarro ive went the other way. I always did a bit of every kind of trading except IPD’s. Ive now adopted a more passive style by loading up on keepers in the attempt to regularly win the GK category. 40 of my 60 players are now keepers.

I feel like recent changes have made trading a full time job which makes me nervous about mistiming a trade and getting stuck with dead weight.

I suppose it all comes down to what works for you, play to your strengths and build a portfolio that allows you to do that

• @Pizarro if anything the problems with liquidity etc make it more suited to just buy and leave for a while, surely for short term trading you'd want more volatility. It's difficult to get in and out of trades at the moment.

I think traders are now either backing FI to sort it out long term and as @MickTurbo says do a much more generous rise next summer, or you are doubting FI can can turn it around and selling up.