Portfolio Approach

• Hi, I'm still fairly new to FI, have been building my port up with a long term view, ultimately preparing for the Euro's next summer. Have been mainly buying keepers with a view for PB over the season (those in European competition or Euro's), some strikers and midfielders (again Euro competition and Euros). Have been looking to get to a place where I have a GK, Def, Mid and Striker for all the of top nations next summer, with the plan to sell non-Euro players (like Neymar / Oblak etc) once their teams are nearing the end of European competition.

With the recent div increase, I'm wondering whether this approach is flawed and I'd be better looking short term and cashing in on the dividends on offer.

I guess my question is does anyone think preparing for the long term / future is a viable / sensible approach or is there plenty of time to have a port prepared for the euros?

• @NewUser607170 this is a good safe way of trading, covering as many bases as you can with players. I set my port up for the euros last November before covid screwed me and my hopes for them. Just a safe way to play imo, slow and steady, never really feel any of the big drops as usually the rest of my port is trickling along and can top up/add to it accordingly.

On the flip side, there is a lot more money to be made trading in and out of players at the minute.

Some real bargains to be had on ME!!

• I think if you focus on internationals with high PB scores or potential, you should be fine. Or have a mixed port. I’ve got some young players I think can benefit from Cap App, some historically strong PB players who are mostly European internationals, and some picks that combine at least one of the above and with the chance to pick up dividends this month. Each to their own, but personally I prefer diversity.

• @NewUser607170