World Cup strategy

• I am a newbie to trading here, I started last month. I was wondering what the views are with the World Cup.

I am coming to terms with the idea that the best way of making money from the platform is through dividends. I can’t see how there’s going to be much to be made out of the world cup in terms of dividends compared to potential risks of injury, early exit of star players etc. A part of the fear is that I have managed to curse a number of players with my selection of the likes of Oxlade-Chamberlain, Maddison and Payet succumbing to injury.

So other than going long on some players that might represent value to go on to become the next James Rodriguez and make a big money move I cant see much fun to be had from the exercise. Which is a bit of a disappointment.

Any thoughts?

If there is something I have missed in previous discussions I would appreciate a link to the topic.

• I have a balanced portfolio and make about 25% of my money from dividends and 75% in profit from sales and I've heard others say similar. Look at getting in on some prospects with potential now and watch them grow. The thread 'cheap players' on here is useful with many suggestions. Regarding the World
    Cup if it's anything like the champions league then prices will be volatile during games so it will certainly be fun don't worry !

• My World Cup strategy is buying players that are not at the World Cup on the cheap for next season I think I can pick up a few bargains while people go silly on the World Cup got my eye on a few that have been falling

• @NewUser140336

It's never fun when you're losing money mate. We have all been there. I'm sure quite a few people on these forums have quit for a few months and came back later regretting it.