Help needed for a newbie - What makes a player valuable

• Hi,

I'm a newbie here and feel like I'm not 100% understanding how the concept works. Could do with some clarification if anyone is willing to help?

I understand why a player (eg. Pogba) who is more likely to win Performance and Media buzz will be more in demand than someone who isn't, and therefore why more people will buy shares in them, and therfore why their value will go up. Simple and understood.

But how does it work with players who are unlikely to win these awards?

Take Harry Winks as an example. I want to buy shares in him because I think he is going to have a great season this season. He's been out injured so lots of people have forgotten that at the start of last season he was putting in MOM performances against Real Madrid in the Champions Leauge and considered one of the 'wonderkids' in English/World football. However, on Football Index he is unlikely to win the Performance Buzz award for midfielders as he's not a goalscorer and doesn't get loads of assists. Similiarly, he's unlikely to win the Media Buzz award too much over a midfielder like eg. Pogba because Winks is one of those essential midfielders who keeps a team ticking but is rarely in the highlight reel.

So then should I buy shares in him? Even though I think his value in real football is going to increase, will it on Football Index if he is never going to win the MB or PB? Why would people buy shares in a young player who is never really going to win them MB or PB dividends? Some people may buy shares in him now thinking that he will be the 'next big thing' but I see a low ceiling as soon as people realise he won't win these dividends, so for me he doesn't seem a good buy which seems wrong given that in a year's time he may be considered one of the better PL midfielders.