Understanding the basics

• Hi I’m new to this so I deposited £20 to see if it is for me but so far I’ve been doing awful I keep missing out and When i do make a profit for example £2.00 from a few shares off Robben I get screwed over by commision. But that was a lesson learnt to be able to calculate the 2% and 1p when selling. But i also need help with the Twitter business. A lot of people tell me to keep up to date with Twitter feed but i dont really know what im supposed to look out for... Anyone help? thanks

• @NewUser168325 I buy younger players with high PB scores. Look at Football Index Edge. Then see which players are good value with high PB or MB.

• With regards to twitter, search #footballindex

I've got that as a saved search on my 3rd party app so I can see all tweets including that #tag in their own column - I only follow a handful of FI related handles on twitter. It's normally busier on non-match days tbh

• @NewUser168325 I've been on since June last year and very rarely go to Twitter. Unfortunately it's double edged, Twitter is abused for 'pump + dump,' meaning someone will buy 100s of a player and then Tweet about how it's just been discovered this guy is Ronaldo's love child and sure to outshine his father etc. etc (pump) once the price increases they sell off (dump) their holding for a tidy profit leaving all their Twitter followers in the red, unfortunately a lot of them will then see the quick decrease and also IS at a loss.

You've done the right thing by going in slowly, don't worry about 'missing out,' this used to drive me crazy until I realised there are potential bargains every day once you get used to finding them. Plus it's a great sign that you're already recognising players capable of growth.

• @NewUser168325

Hey, welcome to the platform. You have done the right thing, keep asking questions ...

We will point you in the right direction.

The main thing to understand is that everybody on here has the same goal = To make money.