Initial investment

• Im fairly new to FI and my initial deposit was just £100 which i thought was quite alot having only spent the odd tenner on betting on a saturday afternoon. Having been doing steadily ok i realise that to make any real money im going to have to up my investment. I have been trying to get mates n family to get involved and was wondering what people think is the minimum deposit amount in order to start seeing decent returns?

• @Andy-Barra I have £21.5k in this. It returns a £2k average each month. I don't know how long that's going to continue for however.

• Wow. I have a bit to go to get 21.5k in but what a return that is. My aim is to.get 2k invested in next 6 months n see where that takes me

• @Andy-Barra The last month hasn't been good though. October 17th my portfolio was £23,750. I took £1.2k out for personal reasons, leaving that at £22,550. Portfolio is now £21,650. I have lost £900 because of the goals and assists dividends being brought in even after this recent 10% deposit bonus. I am keeping the faith however.

• More money in the bigger the swings i guess. If i can get 2k in and return around 200 a month average id be over the moon. When u first started what was your initial deposit? Not many people can afford to throw a couple of grand into it straight away. I guess patience is the key

• @Andy-Barra Throw is the word. Money you can afford to lose. I would advise not to borrow if it would cause stress down the line.

• Im seeing it more like a savings pot that will hopefully grow at a better rate than a bank could ever give. Much less risk

• Similar position for me, would only spend the odd fiver here and there on an ACCA. I deposited £50 at first and got a £30 bonus so I have £80 to invest. Been a member almost one week and although my portfolio has grown it's obviously not life changing money.

I'm going to keep going and once I get more confident in it and myself then I will put some more in.