My FI Journey - For new traders

• I thought it may help new and some existing traders if I documented my journey with FI (although brief as it may help).

I work in the financial sector and started looking at FI this time last year and was not convinced so did not invest any funds until May 2018. I decided to treat it like other financial investments which meant thorough research and a buy/sell plan for each player. Some players were bought as potential 3 year holds for dividends and some for potential short term flipping. I also believe that you have to have a personal growth target that you deem acceptable for the risk taken. Everybody will have a different target in mind as each trader can use different strategy's some are far riskier than others. However it is not for me to say what is right or wrong just that you should have a plan and it should be realistic!

My plan was to buy top players initially and then add lower priced players as I went along. I wanted to achieve a good dividend return and wanted a 25% per year return on capital to justify both the risk and time involved.

My deposits were:
    May: £1,550
    Jun: £4,450
    Jul: £2,000
    Aug: £3,000
    Sep: £250
    Oct: £2,750
    Nov: £1,000

Total to date £15,000 - there have been a few £10's from referral's and some 10% deposit bonuses.

Currently my portfolio is worth £19,935.75 and my cash balance is £459.02 so totalling £20,394.79.

Of the £5,394.79 profit just over £1,000 has come from dividends and £1,400 from trading players the rest is growth in the players I hold.

My current portfolio is 41 players and is made up of the following:

900 Futures in 3 young players yet to see growth
    100 + Futures in each of Neymar, Salah, Pogba, Hazard, Kimmich, Sancho, Dembele, Mbappe, Sterling and Kane
    25 - 100 Futures in a range of other top 100 players